Name Notifications-UPDATED

Many of you are now noticing a new type of notification popping up in your games. Letting you know a neighbor has ventured in there. It looks something like this…(this is from my Galaxy S4)

2014-04-07 12.08.02-1

Screenshot_2014-04-07-00-39-36-1

Screenshot_2014-04-06-17-40-24-1

Screenshot_2014-04-07-06-55-39-1

 

Screenshot_2014-04-05-22-37-07-1

Screenshot_2014-04-05-21-02-09-1

 

Now there’s the question of how/why they’re appearing? I think it’s just EAs way of getting you to play your game. Basically EA gives you the option to set up notifications on your phone so you know when your crops are complete, tasks done, etc.  You can set this option to ON or OFF. (There are reports though that the names are showing up even with it set to off.) These notifications options are in the same place as setting your Confirm Donut Spend and Volumes.

Just go to your basic menu…

2014-04-07 11.34.38

Pull up any group and look for the italic little “i” in the top right corner of the items box…

2014-04-07 11.35.51

 

Change your settings to OFF to avoid notifications. (Turn ON Confirm Donut Spend to avoid accidentally spending those donuts.)

2014-04-07 11.33.57

 

You can turn your Music and Sound Effects  up, down, or off too.

2014-04-07 11.37.19

Now it gets even weirder.  We have reports some names that show are friends you had before but have deleted them. Also that they are ones you’ve never heard of or added at all. I can only say that this is just another name randomizer used I see in many games, past and present, when you play against the “computer” or the game is trying to get you to spend more time playing. They are just there more to get you to notice and play your game. Similar to “Frink” randomly popping up in our games and tagging our buildings. Never know, these new names could get you a new friend if you request them. 

Alissa Frink Visit 1

 

UPDATE: 4-8-2014 7AM EST-
As more people are saying that turning off the notifications in their game is still allowing the pops ups to happen, I wanted to point out another location that you may not even realize that can usually be set for ANY app added to your device (depending on the device itself). I will be using my Samsung Galaxy S4 for demonstration on this one. Your device may be in the similar area…

Go to you settings menu on your actual device. Most of them look like a lil gear wheel. You may have them on your screen or hidden away in all of your app icons in your device.

Notifications 1

 

Once in the Settings Menu,  look for your Applications Manager. (Mine is under the “More” area.)

Notifications 2

Once in your Applications Manager, look for the app you want to make changes to. In this case it is The Simpsons Tapped Out.

Notifications 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I am inside the App information itself and can make changes to it. (In my phone, this is also where you can uninstall, make updates, clear cache, move to device or external SD card.) What you are looking for this time is “Show Notifications”. As you can see, it is checked. This means that it may overwrite the game settings and still allow pop ups to come through. So I remove the check mark by clicking on it.

Notifications 4

At this time, your device may ask you if you are sure you want to make the change. I do, so I check “OK”.

Notifications 5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This usually helps stop those Notifications that sneak through. (I do this for apps like Facebook too. I hate getting a million pop ups.)

Because YOU are all pretty awesome, you sent in some additional help/images to aid your fellow tappers.

Our Addicts reader lapm55 sent this in for their device…
Note for iPhone users:
1. Go to Settings.
2. Click on “Notification Center.”
3. Scroll down to “Tapped Out – Badges, Sounds, Alerts” and click on it.
4. Choose either “None” or “Banners” or “Alerts”… With “None,” you will get no notifications; with “Banners,” you will get notice across top of screen, but no interruption of task; with “Alerts,” you will get notice across middle of screen that interrupts task and requires you to push Cancel or OK.
* * *
Hope this helps iPhoners wanting to eliminate interruptions. 🙂 

EvillKitten812 sent in this image that they see when a neighbor enters their town at the same time they are in it.

EvilKitten812 Name Notification

 

So there is a lil more information and hopefully help in getting those extra pop ups to stop.

I am curious what YOU are noticing with the changes. Have YOU tried requesting the new names? Do you like this new way of getting us to play? Sound off in the comments below.

Hope this helps to clear up some questions. If not,  just ask. Always happy to help.

Bunny Icon

~Bunny

 

 

78 responses to “Name Notifications-UPDATED

  1. Hey not fair! I dont get push notes when a friend visits my town!!! I have all the settings on! I want a refund!

  2. Oh man, I should have read this post before I put one in what I think was the Q&A section. I will try to erase it, if I can. I never posted anything until tonight. Sorry for not reading this sooner and thanks for bearing with me lol

    • Awww no worries at all. 😉

      We are always happy to help. Please, never feel silly for asking. It is what we are here for. 🙂

Leave a Reply to ryanmcm82 Cancel reply